Gmail’s Undo Send Saves You from Emailer’s Remorse

Share

Google recently announced a new feature called Undo Send, and Gmail users are rejoicing. It was once relegated to the mysterious domain of power users and enthusiastic beta testers known as Gmail Labs. This week, Gmail brings its once-experimental unsend feature to the masses.

What does Undo Send do?

It’s pretty much exactly what it sounds like, albeit with  one major caveat – you only have a very small window of time (ten seconds by default) to hit the undo send button before it’s too late. To enable this merciful feature, just navigate to the ‘General’ tab of your Gmail settings and check the box next to ‘Undo Send.’ You might as well extend the wait period to the maximum thirty-second window while you’re at it.

So whether you find yourself sending a late-night, wine-influenced essay to an ex, accidentally hitting reply-all in the email chain, or noticing five seconds too late that you used “your” instead of “you’re” when asking your English professor for an extension on that final paper, rest easy knowing that Gmail has got your back.

What this could mean for your email marketing

Unless you’re sending marketing emails directly through Gmail (and if you are, tsk tsk), then not a whole lot. But, it does highlight a best practice for email marketers everywhere, and that is to always test your email before sending. That way, you can catch every typo and error, before someone on your list does it for you.

Sending yourself test emails is one of the many benefits of using an email service provider to market your business. VerticalResponse lets you send tests, pick from dozens of professional-looking email templates, and track all your opens, clicks and shares in real time after you send. Sign up for your free account today.

© 2015, VerticalResponse Blog. All rights reserved. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

The post Gmail’s Undo Send Saves You from Emailer’s Remorse appeared first on VerticalResponse Blog.


VerticalResponse Blog

Share

Request granted: Unfavinator gives Twitter users a one click way to undo all their favorites

Share

Unfavorite

With Twitter favorite-gate in full stride this week, a number of users have been looking for a way to reset their existing favorites and approach the “new Twitter” with a clean slate.

Perhaps the most influential and public of these figures was former Google and YouTube Director of Product Management and current Homebrew partner Hunter Walk. Yesterday at 7:28pm PST, Walk tweeted the following ironic message:

Just three hours and a few minutes later, Walk got the answer he was looking for, tweeting:

The goal of the newly launched Unfavinator service, built by Guild Launch and GameSkinny founder Stephen Johnston, should be self explanatory, but the website offers the following description:

Want to erase all the pesky things that you marked as favorites on Twitter but don’t want to have to open each and every tweet to do it? So did we.

Meet Unfavinator: the fastest way to delete all (or some) of your favorite formerly favorite tweets.

It’s a good bet that Twitter will be less than pleased by the emergence of a tool(s) like this which, if adopted in bulk, would wreak havoc on the company’s valuable user-data. There’s a good chance that the company will quickly block the service and/or update its API Terms of Service to prevent such activity. So, if you’re looking to bulk unfavorite, best to do so soon.

There you have it. It seems we’re living in an ask and you shall receive world. Assuming, that is, you have the right network and enough social “juice,” which Walk apparently does.

Update: Shortly after publishing Walk sent the following series of tweets:

PandoDaily

Share