The 411 on the GRE


The GRE – Graduate Record Examination – is a highly competitive entrance exam for graduate and business schools across the United States.  Like the SAT for undergraduate admissions, the GRE is administered by the non-profit ETS and is required by many institutions of higher education.  Millions of students hoping to matriculate into a Master’s, MBA, or PhD program take the GRE revised General Test each year.

Comprising three distinct sections – Verbal Reasoning, Quantitative Reasoning, and Analytical Writing – each part of the GRE revised General Test is designed to measure specific skills critical for success in graduate studies.  The Reasoning sections are each scored on a scale of 130-170 with 1-point increments and the Writing section is scored from 0-6 with ½-point increments.  In addition to the General Test, seven optional Subject Tests are available at an additional cost and offered a few times a year.   It is important to check with the admission requirements of each specific program in order to determine if the GRE revised General Test and/or a specific GRE Subject Test are required.

Scores are valid for five years and the test can be taken up to 5 times in a 12-month period.  Most programs review all test scores taken in a five-year period, although each institution evaluates the scores differently.  This infographic answers many basic questions about the process of taking the GRE General Test, how to prepare, and what to expect on test day.  Average scores as well as a sampling of average revised GRE scores for a variety of Universities across the United States can be found below, offering graduate students a glimpse of the expectations.

Please reference the visual for a complete list of sources.

The 411 on the GRE image 411 GRE2

This piece was originally featured on

Social Articles | Business 2 Community