Meteor Shower Spawned by Halley’s Comet Is Peaking Now

Share

Halleys-comet-giotto-photo

Feed-twFeed-fb

A meteor shower created by bits of Halley’s Comet is at its peak now, and NASA has a few handy tips for stargazers eager to see the display of “shooting stars.”

The annual Eta Aquarid meteor shower is peaking today (May 5) as the Earth passes through a dusty debris field of cosmic leftovers from Halley’s Comet. The shower should be at its best at 9 p.m. EDT (0100 GMT) Sunday night, offering stargazers with the best viewing conditions and locations a chance to see between 30 and 40 meteors an hour, according to an update from NASA’s Marshall Space Flight Center in Huntsville, Ala.

Scientists at the Marshall Space Flight Center will provide a live webcast and chat during the Eta Aquarids from 11 p.m. EDT (0300 GMT) to 3 a.m. EDT (0700 GMT). Read more…

More about Space, Nasa, and Meteor Shower
Mashable

Share